Monthly Roundup – My first month

I can’t believe it, but I’ve had this blog for a month now! Even during this short time, it’s been a real learning experience, trying to wrap my head around WordPress, and working out that people weren’t exaggerating when they said that the Ace Attorney anime wasn’t very good (there will be a review of the whole series coming). I’ve also learned that people who like cycling seem to be interested in cycling anime, based on my blog activity. I’m hoping that as time goes on I’ll learn more about what is going to work for me in terms of content and posting.

A big thanks to all of my readers and the lovely people who have followed my blog, and taken time to like and or comment on my posts! A big thanks also to the people I know in real life who are reading my blog and who have all individually told me that my writing style is ‘a bit formal’. I’ve not done much informal writing before and it seems like I’m having some troubles loosening up. You’ll probably all tell me my apology is a bit formal too, but I have to start somewhere, right?

I’ll also use this spot to feature some posts from other blogger’s posts which I have read and enjoyed this month. You may want to have a look at these yourself!

https://mechanicalanimereviews.wordpress.com/2016/11/05/trends-in-modern-anime-the-three-episode-rule/
Mechanical Anime Reviews observes the trend of how shows seem to be considering the Three Episode Rule when creating new series. I personally have a four episode rule, formed back in the days when it was common for a friend to lend you the first DVD of a series which usually had four episodes on it, but I know a lot of people go with three episodes to get a taste of a series and there’s some nice insights.

https://lethargicramblings.wordpress.com/2016/11/05/lethargic-ramble-tanaka-kun-and-my-struggle-with-slice-of-life/
Lethargic Ramblings talks about why they don’t find slice-of-life interesting and a rare exception. I think slice-of-life is great, but it’s very interesting to see a well-reasoned view point as to why it doesn’t appeal.

https://theanimeharvest.wordpress.com/2016/10/31/the-purpose-of-out-of-ten-scores-why-theyre-pointless-except-sometimes-but/
Anime Harvest discusses when giving a show a score can be valuable, and when it feels kind of meaningless. I have problems myself with the idea of giving an out of ten score for many similar reasons to the ones they gave, that’s why I thought I’d stick with a simple recommend or not recommend at the end of my reviews, but I found their argument for giving a show a score very interesting, and something I’d consider.

https://litakinoanimecorner.wordpress.com/2016/11/10/anime-lost-its-spark-dying-me-thinks-not/
LitaKino talks about why she thinks that anime is not ‘dying’ or losing its charm, despite some opinions to the contrary.

screenshot-from-2016-10-10-16-18-28

I’m hoping to have many more months of writing and learning ahead!

6 thoughts on “Monthly Roundup – My first month

  1. Wow, thank you for mentioning my post, I really appreciate it!

    Congrats on reaching your first month! I’m more or less in the same boat as you, since I also just started blogging a month ago and it’s been a real experience for me as well.

    I’m following you now too! So looking forward to seeing what’s next on your blog.

    Happy blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yeah, absolutely. Blogging has become almost part of my daily routine since starting, and it’s really awesome to be able to share your opinions and thoughts with others and get feedback and discussion from those people.

        It can be a challenge to come up with an interesting topic at times, but there’s always a great feeling when you finish a post and get your thoughts out there.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

