12 Days of Anime: Day 1 – Seasonal Viewing

Welcome to my 12 days of anime! This is where anime bloggers around the world talk about 12 moments related to anime which stood out to them during this year. They don’t have to strictly be about shows which are new, just things that happened to you during the year related to anime. Ideally the posts are going up from the 14th to the 25th of December, but if someone’s schedule is a bit different to that, that’s also fine. I’m planning to have a mixture of scenes and anecdotes, and of some positive and less positive moments. I know some people theme these but my plan is a total mixed bag! Onto my first moment.

lucy04

I’ve got this seasonal thing down. Maybe.

As I’ve started a blog, I’ve become a bit more serious about watching some shows as they air to keep up with the cool kids participate in the blogging community. In the past, I’ve been pretty content to let a series finish airing before I start watching it because that way I can see it at my own pace, and may only watch one or two things as they air (or start watching them as they air, lose all steam, and come back to them later… Dagashi Kashi, I’m coming back to you one day I promise). It’s very different picking shows as they air. This season, I’ve watched some things based on their first few episodes and overall reputation which I probably wouldn’t have if I’d known what they would be like as they finished. At the same time, it’s also been very interesting to share thoughts with a large group of people who are watching the shows at the same time, and even vicariously ‘watch’ a few shows through people who share episodic thoughts. I’ve also discovered that my natural taste is better than picking up shows because the community is talking about them. Of the shows I’d selected on my own, I’ve really liked them all, of the ones which I checked out mainly because of community interest, I’ve not found them as good. I’m quite happy sitting in my corner watching comedy shorts and cute girls doing cute things. Still, there’s an undeniable pleasure in being able to share excitement and opinions with people around you. I definitely plan to keep rolling the dice and watching more airing shows owing to the enjoyment of interacting with others.

11 thoughts on “12 Days of Anime: Day 1 – Seasonal Viewing

    • I think you’ve got to do what works for you. I’ve found that writing about one show is quite manageable, but there’s no way I could write about everything I watch episodically (some shows I don’t even feel like there would be a lot to talk about each episode). I don’t feel obliged to watch every show I’m watching ‘this season’ the second it comes out either, I’ve only been trying to stay super on top of Long Riders, everything else is when I get around to it.

      Some people can review a whole heap of airing shows, and some people don’t even keep up with what’s airing and just watch what they feel like and write about that. We’re all anime fans!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Yay for day one!

    “I’m quite happy sitting in my corner watching comedy shorts and cute girls doing cute things.”

    It may be all I really need, too. But I guessss branching out is also a fine idea.

    I’m looking forward to reading more of your 12 Days of Anime posts! Mixed bag posts, woo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know what I like, but I also know there may be things I don’t know that I like yet, so I’m happy to give new stuff a go. I’ve got some new year’s goals regarding trying out a few genres that I either haven’t watched or have hardly watched, just to see if they are in fact genres I just didn’t know I loved yet.

      I don’t know if you’ve looked much at the shows announced for the Winter season, but I think you’ll be pretty hyped with all the cute girls shows in the line up.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mmm that’s a good mindset. And a great new year’s goal!

        Oh, I’ve seen a few lists, including yours, and the season looks really promising! I’ll have to check it out more thoroughly at a later time, however.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Have you watched that much anime that there’s not older stuff that you’re interested in, or is it just that you watch so many airing shows that you don’t have time to watch older stuff?

      In the big scheme of things, I have not watched a lot of anime (I’ve only passed about 150 completed items on MAL some of which are shorts and OVAs, so it doesn’t compare at all to people who have finished hundreds of shows), and I know that there’s good older stuff (both things which have come out in recent years, and series which were released over 10 or 20 years ago) which are well regarded and to my interest. Watching new shows is good, but I don’t want to limit myself to exclusively watching newer shows.

      Like

Leave a Reply

