12 Days of Anime: Day 2 – Staring At Crane Machines

Crane Game Girls is an anime all about girls who play crane machines in order to save the world from destruction by asteroids. During the series they learn a variety of new techniques to make it easier to get prizes out of the machines. This is an example of the sort of thing which happens during the seriescranegame02cranegame06cranegame07I’ve never really played a crane game as I assume that ‘the house wins’ otherwise they wouldn’t be so prevalent, and it wasn’t something I ever did as a child. However, now whenever I walk past one, I can’t help checking out the situation to see if one of the special techniques would make it easier to get the prizes out of the machine. I don’t want the prizes, and I don’t think I could win prizes anyway because of my poor co-ordination, plus I don’t know if the techniques could even be applied outside of the realm of fantasy, but this doesn’t stop me from staring and working out which technique I could apply for my best chances of success. In a strange way, this show has changed my view of the world. It’s probably a good thing the world isn’t relying on my winning prizes from crane games in order to save it from impending destruction.

4 thoughts on “12 Days of Anime: Day 2 – Staring At Crane Machines

  1. They really can make a show out of anything, aren’t they.

    Out of curiosity, have you written ‘short series’ recommendation/favorites (or something of that kind) post here? Would be great to see, especially since not many people talking about them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • No I have not, but it’s definitely something I’d consider in the future! I like short-form anime, as I think that it brings a unique style of story-telling owing to its limitations (and also even if the series isn’t that great it’s done in an hour or so), and I know it’s not something a lot of people write about or talk about. I’d love to watch and review even more series. Crunchyroll has such a lot and I have a debt of gratitude for them bringing this sort of anime to my attention, as these shows probably wouldn’t have caught my eye otherwise.

      Like

      • Yeah, it’s also CR that got me interested in the format through the likes of Wakakozake and Yamishibai. Overshadowed a lot by full-length series, but they seem like great medium for more experimental form of storytelling and zany ideas. Any favorite one so far?

        Liked by 1 person

        • They’re very different. It’s not really the same to me as watching a full-length series at all. I don’t think that shorts will ever gain the same sort of attention as there’s not the same story or animation as a regular series, but what they bring to the table can be good! Wakakozake is up there as a favourite, along with Bananya and I Can’t Understand What My Husband Is Saying.

          Like

Leave a Reply

