12 Days of Anime: Day 12 – An Ode To Joy

Classicaloid is the anime which I have been really enjoying and it seems that other people aren’t really into. I want to finish off my 12 days of anime though with a look at the opening sequence of the first episode. I took piano lessons as a young child, and something about the sounds of classical music really struck a chord with me. I’ll still often opt for a classical piece if I’m just looking to relax, or as some low-key background sound while working on writing or chores. Classical music is often used in media, I think both because of its beautiful sounds and also because it’s in the public domain and therefore you don’t need to go through too many hassles to make use of the tunes. An Ode To Joy has been used many times in anime (I’m sure many of you can think of the dramatic sequence in Evangelion set to this tune), but Classicaloid puts its own spin on the classic tune.

This is unadulterated visual joy set to classical music.

The piece starts out slowly as we see Beethoven folding the gyoza.

When the hotplate is turned on, there’s a crescendo in the music and we hear vocals on top of the now more dramatic tones of the piece.

We also see some shots of Sousuke (not a classical composer, just a teenage boy with misplaced dreams of musical success) trying to create his own musical piece and his distress over his sister’s interference in his perceived creative process.

The gyoza cooks, the music climaxes and we can see Beethoven and Mozart’s hopeful faces over the dramatically prepared gyoza.

classicaloid17The gyoza is actually not very good and we hear the first few notes of Beethoven’s 5th Symphony play over the rising cloud of smoke.

classicaloid18While there’s not a lot of explanation given, I feel it doesn’t matter when there’s such obvious joy in the events unfolding. While I wasn’t specifically counting down, this would have to be my favourite moment in anime this year owing to such a fun combination of lively visuals and great music.

I made it to twelve days! I hope that all my readers have a relaxing and joyous Christmas Day! Next week I’m planning to have a write-up on some anime of the year things and some general thoughts on the Fall season in addition to my regular posts.

2 thoughts on “12 Days of Anime: Day 12 – An Ode To Joy

  1. Tried this anime out due to such an absurd premise. Got through about four episodes. Too formulaic. Too one-dimensional in its humor and characterization. Regardless, I like the zany designs of the characters and the emphasis on camaraderie. Glad you’re enjoying it.

    Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I don’t think that it’s a show which is to everyone’s taste, as it really doesn’t seem to deviate much from being really oddball and zany (11 episodes in, we’ve only got some tiny hints of any kind of overarching plot), and unless you’re me, maybe 25 full length episodes of Classicaloid is a bit much. I think the opening couple of minutes is worth a watch for anyone though! Merry Christmas to you as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

