Versatile Blogger Award and Unique Blogger Award

You people are all lovely and keep nominating me for these blog awards! Thanks so much for the recognition, I must apologise that it’s taken so long to respond.

Versatile Blogger Award
versatile-blogger-awardRules:
1. Display the award
2. Thank the person who gave the award (including a link to their blog)
3. Share seven things about you.
4. Nominate ten bloggers

I was nominated for this award by Raven from Golden Realist. Raven’s blog features some thoughtful reflections on anime they’ve watched and books they’ve read, along with some thoughts on the shows that they’re watching seasonally. Thanks so much for the nomination!

Here are some things about me
1. I come from a big family, having four sisters and a brother. We’re fortunate enough to all get on pretty well (although we do drive each other a bit crazy at close quarters for extended periods of time, but I figure that is one of our important sibling duties).
2. I love Lord of the Rings, having read it about once a year every year since I was nine. The epic tale of good vs evil never grows dull and I seem to find something new every time I read it. I think it’s helped to inspire my love of well-crafted fantasy worlds in general.
3. I never had any games consoles when I was a child and so I’ve really only started gaming as an adult. I’m still really bad at anything which requires any degree of timing or precision, but I’ve found my niche in turn-based RPGs (my first RPG was Costume Quest but I haven’t looked back).
4. I love baking and making sweets, but it’s difficult to do it too much owing to my tiny household. If I cook a tasty thing, it means that I am personally responsible for eating most of the the tasty thing, which isn’t really good for me. I’m always delighted when I’m asked to bring something sweet along to an event as it’s a chance to cook an old favourite or try something new.
5. I have a Bachelor of Mathematics. It’s a really unfocused sort of degree with no direct links to the workforce, but I learnt a lot of interesting and fun maths things while I was studying.
6. I’ve been told by strangers that I have a nice singing voice. Growing up, my siblings mostly told me I was singing too high, so it’s a bit strange having this happen. I enjoy singing (in a group setting like church, or also just messing around at home or in the car), but the idea that I may sound good enough for people to comment on it is a bit perplexing. I’m really in it to have fun!
7. I cannot seem to warm to the taste of coffee. I’m highly caffeine sensitive, making regular coffee a bad idea except in extreme circumstances, but I try decaf or coffee flavoured foodstuffs every so often and they just don’t taste good to me. I don’t really feel like I’m missing out on anything, I love the taste of tea and also enjoy a hot chocolate or milo to warm up, but coffee is one of those acquired tastes I cannot seem to acquire.

Unique Blogger Award
unique-blogger-award
I received two nominations for the Unique Blogger Award. Thanks so much for the nominations!

Rules
1. Share the link of the blogger who has shown love to you by nominating you
2. Answer the questions
3. In the spirit of sharing love and solidarity with our blogging family, nominate 8-13 people for the same award
4. Ask them three questions
I was nominated by Lethargic Ramblings. Lethargic Ramblings, the self-proclaimed most lethargic blogger has some very thoughtful opinion pieces, together with lists and as of late, also some episodic posts on his blog. Here are the questions he asked.

What is your favourite thing about blogging? I can promote my comedy shorts agenda to the world. I think that one of the things which I really like about blogging is that you’re part of a community. Instead of just talking about shows with those you know, you can reach a new group of people, and also get some new insights on what they think. Anime bloggers seem to be pretty diverse (the only thing we have in common is that we like to write about anime), and it’s great to be welcomed by, and learn from others.
What is your favourite genre of Anime and why? Slice-of-life (preferably comedy slice-of-life). I’m still not especially sure exactly why I like these sorts of shows so much, but I think it has something to do with the characters’ obvious pleasure in performing everyday activities. I like to find the joy and laughter in everyday life, so seeing shows which focus on this is fun!
Assuming you play video games, what’s your preferred platform of choice? It’s a tough choice because I think each platform brings its own kind of games (although this is slightly less the case these days with a lot of major releases coming to multiple platforms, it still holds). I guess it would be a chance to give a shout-out to the Vita as the neglected cousin of handhelds. While the Vita is only really good for JRPGs and Indie Games, I mostly want to play JRPGs and Indie Games, so it’s got a lot of mileage. I also have a 3DS, PS3, Wii, and force my aging computer to try and run some Steam games on occasion.

Thanks also to WeeabooOtaku for nominating me for this award! WeeabooOtaku shares my love of comedy slice-of-life series and has a mixture of episodic posts, anime reviews, and general otaku culture posts on their blog. These are the questions he asked.

What anime character do you most relate to and why?
Yamagami Lucy from Servant x Service. Rather like her, I’m at times over-earnest or naïve. I also share her love for reading and complete inability to hold alcohol (I know my limits; my limits are one drink).
What fictional setting/universe would you most like to live in? Probably a fairly common response, but I’d love to live in Middle Earth, specifically in the Shire. Hobbits as a people seem to be very community and family oriented, and look out for one another. They’ve also got a great deal of enjoyment for food and laughter, two of the things which I greatly enjoy in life.
If you could swap lives with one person, real or fictional, who would it be and why?  I don’t think that I’d actually want to swap lives with anyone. My life certainly isn’t perfect, but I have many things to feel thankful for, and despite my constant desire for new knowledge, I’m actually rather averse to change. A chance to meet historic or fictional people would be an entirely different matter though!

Nominations Just a few this time. There’s absolutely no pressure to respond if you’re not interested, but I’ve decided this is a good way to share some of the newer blogs which I’ve discovered recently.

Shoujo Thoughts
Tea In The Hoots Nest
The Archive Is On Fire
Anime Ducks
All Hail Haruhi

My questions to you
-What would your dream anime be like (You could bring up source material that you’re dying to have adapted, a dream staff line-up, or just a concept which you’d love to see come to life on the screen)?
-What’s a dish you really enjoy cooking and why?
-What’s something that will almost invariably make you laugh?

7 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award and Unique Blogger Award

  1. Ooooh. Nominated. I don’t think I’ve done this one before so it should be fun. No idea when I’ll get around to it…so…eventually…

    Question two kills me though. You won’t believe how bad I am at cooking! I’m a “let me do the housework” kind of person.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

