12 Days of Anime: Day 5 – My Brand of Table Tennis

In the past, I’ve not really been interested in sports anime. I’ve never been that interested in playing or watching sports, so I thought that shows about sports would also not be to my taste. Long Riders is very strictly slice-of-life with sports elements, it doesn’t really count as it doesn’t have the genre conventions of a sports anime. Scorching Ping Pong Girls has taken me by surprise and made me think that maybe there’s something to sports anime after all (or at least sports anime with cute girls, I’ll have to try some of the other kind to see what I think).

This moment when Koyori faces off against Kururi shows off how over the top and enjoyable the Ping Pong is to watch.

I’m not sure if it’s normal for sports anime to have these sort of ridiculous special moves, but you can see the ball here in a whirlwind, reminiscent of the sort of special attacks I’m more familiar with in shounen series.

pingpong07

Koyori is excited and powers up in return with more ridiculous special moves. It’s interesting in this series that whilst most of the show has the sort of light tones that I’d associate with the slice-of-life shows I watch, when the ping pong heats up, it’s accompanied by pounding electronic beats, which help emphasise the excitement of the moment.

pingpong11Isn’t this the most scorching Ping Pong?

Scorching Ping Pong Girls has a message at its heart that playing a sport isn’t just about winning, it’s about being able to enjoy yourself! As someone who is not good at sports, and will probably never be good at sports, this is super encouraging and makes me more inclined to go out there and have a go.

6 thoughts on “12 Days of Anime: Day 5 – My Brand of Table Tennis

    • Now you have pointed this out, I will probably also not be able to unsee it. 🙂 I don’t think that this is necessarily a problem for story-telling though, and as I’m not familiar with the sports genre, so I have no idea whether this is normal or below average for visuals.

      As a first show in a genre, it feels fresh and exciting for me, even if it’s possibly uninteresting or cliched for others.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ping Pong The Animation will always be top-tier ping pong show. ❤

    That said, I haven’t seen it myself, but I think Teekyu! is supposed to be similar in structure to this sort of show. Except it features Tennis instead of Ping Pong.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have recently heard of Teekyu! and it seems like it’s my thing, with the short episodes and the tangential relation to the sport featured in the show. I’m planning to give it a look at some point in the near future.

      I’ve also definitely heard great things about Ping Pong The Animation, but I have so many other shows I want to watch, it will probably depend on when I get time to see it! It appears to be very different in style (both in terms of theming and in terms of visuals) to Scorching Ping Pong Girls, but that’s no reflection on whether I’ll enjoy it or not.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Series Review – Scorching Ping Pong Girls | Plain Pasta and Plain Rice

Leave a Reply

